Giving Out Free Samples Can Be Depressing

Handing out free samples at grocery stores is not for everyone. The experience is one where it can be hard to differentiate whether the stranger is saying ‘No’ to you, or saying ‘No’ to the product you are handing out. And to be honest, I am not entirely sure if I can determine between the two myself.

Let me set the scene for you: It is lunch time at a market in Santa Monica. Men and women dressed in business casual clothes come rushing in to get in line for the salad bar. However, when these people entered the store to see that my table was set on the fastest route to the salad bar, they stopped. Then, instead of walking past me, they proceeded to take a detour around the entire store just to avoid my table of samples.

Which made me pay more attention to the rest of the customers I saw throughout my three hour shift. As it turns out, there are the worst kinds of people when it comes to giving out free samples. Out of all of the potential customers I interacted with, the list boiled down to these three types.

The avoiders are the type I just mentioned.  Not only did these people deny my chance to at least win their favor, but their looks in my direction made me feel as though I should be ashamed of myself. Like a homeless man sitting in urine soaked jeans, I too felt helpless, realizing none of these avoiders would even acknowledge my existence.

The next type of customer flat out refused my samples before I had a chance to speak. Sure, these people are not as bad as the avoiders, but come on. At least give me a chance to defend myself. Their signature move was to match my eye contact while giving me ‘the smile where you show no teeth’ before saying, “No thanks.”

Which brings me to the worst people. No, it is not the type of individual that takes more samples than what is socially acceptable or the ones who cough in their hand but insist on grabbing their own sample. The worst type are the people who in a loud fashion tell the world how bad they think your product is.

It happened when a lady reached down to grab a sample, while at the same time I was explaining the benefits of hemp to three attentive and potential customers.

“It’s a good source of protein, fiber and…” I said before getting cut off.

“Ewww, this doesn’t taste good.” The lady said before putting her half-eaten sample back on the table. Before I had the chance to save face, the small group I was talking to dispersed, causing even more people to avoid me.

Seriously lady?! Let others figure out whether they like the snack bar or not. It’s bad enough people already think that these hemp bars are going to get them stoned. Jeez. I did not think I would get so riled up about giving out free samples, but damn, after being ignored and told no all day, the pressure can get to you.

So please, be nice to the man or woman giving you a free sample at the market. It truly is a tough gig. Costco samplers and the men and women that do this for a living, you are the true heroes. While you are not working to solve the world’s problems, you are introducing the public to new products and ideas. And that is tough enough, so good on you.

Yeah and if you found yourself relating to any of the types of people I described above, try and be better. At least for my sake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑